Motlow graduates lead the way in Honors Transfer Fellowships to MTSU

100918 Honors Transfers.jpg

Six Motlow State Community College graduates were recently awarded an Honors Transfer Fellowship to MTSU. The fellowship is the highest academic award for transfer students entering MTSU.

The six Motlow graduates represent the most Fellows from any institution in the country, as only 30 Honors Transfer Fellowships, drawn from many majors and a wide variety of colleges and universities, are awarded each year by MTSU.

Receiving the fellowship from Motlow were Kaleb Askren (Computer Science), Britney Brown (Animal Science), Anthony Czelusniak (Journalism), Lisa Hardie (Psychology), Samir Qattea (Mechatronics Engineering), and Angela Womack (Sociology).

Students qualify for the Honors Transfer Fellowship with a 3.5 GPA and must maintain a minimum 3.25 GPA while taking honors classes. Recruited throughout the state and region, Fellows are chosen by a committee based on their transcripts, a personal essay, and two letters of recommendation.

Students in the program take a common class during their first semester and participate in at least one Honors Lecture Series. The fellowship is open to students who enter MTSU in the fall semester with 60 hours of college or university coursework.