Motlow College Foundation recognizes Motlow faculty for excellence in teaching

041719 Faculty Excellence Nominees 1200.jpg

The Motlow College Foundation recently recognized Motlow State Community College faculty for excellence in teaching at an awards ceremony held on the College’s Moore County campus. Misty Griffith, assistant professor of biology, received the 2019 Faculty Excellence Award. Griffith was one of nine faculty members nominated. Peter Dowd, adjunct instructor of biology, received the 2019 Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award. The nominating committee was made up of representatives from all academic disciplines and councils, as well as the student government association. Pictured, seated from left, are nominees Dayron Deaton-Owen, associate professor of psychology and sociology; Andrea Green, English instructor; Fran Marcum, vice chair Motlow College Foundation; Kate Benson, psychology instructor; and Dr. Phyllis Adams, communications professor. Standing, from left, are Christie Gillespie, speech instructor; Adjunct Faculty Excellence Awardee Peter Dowd; Dr. Michael Torrence, Motlow president; Faculty Excellence Awardee Misty Griffith; Tamara Jones, English instructor; and Charles Whiting, mass communications instructor.